President of Ukraine

Ukraine Has Signed a Bilateral Security Agreement with Spain

27 May 2024 - 15:40

Ukraine Has Signed a Bilateral Security Agreement with Spain

In Madrid, President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskyy and Prime Minister of Spain Pedro Sánchez signed a bilateral Agreement on Security Cooperation.

The document enshrines Spain's commitment to support Ukraine as long as necessary to restore its territorial integrity within the internationally recognized borders of 1991. Specifically, Spain will provide Ukraine with €1 billion in military aid this year. In addition, the agreement states Spain's willingness to continue providing multifaceted support throughout the 10-year term of the agreement.

Spain supports the Ukraine Future Forces Initiative and has joined several Capability Coalitions in the framework of the Ukrainian Defence Contact Group, such as “Integrated Air and Missile Defence”, “Artillery”, “Armour”, “Maritime Security”, “IT” and “Demining”, which will strengthen Ukraine and improve the interoperability of Ukrainian and NATO forces.

Spain will continue to support the development of the Security and Defense Forces of Ukraine, provide modern military equipment in various fields, support medical training and prosthetics for the Ukrainian military, and strengthen Ukraine's maritime security. Bilateral security cooperation will also be deepened in the areas of intelligence, the fight against organized crime, and the defense industry, in particular by exploring opportunities for joint production and finding possible sources of funding needed to develop Ukraine's defense industry.

The agreement also covers humanitarian aid, economic recovery and reconstruction, and support for Ukraine's reforms on its path to EU and NATO membership. Certain provisions of the document are devoted to supporting the Ukrainian Peace Formula, strengthening sanctions against Russia, introducing a mechanism for compensation for damages, and bringing the aggressor to justice.

Spain is the tenth country to sign a bilateral security agreement with Ukraine in furtherance of the Joint Declaration adopted by Ukraine and the G7 members in Vilnius on July 12, 2023. A total of 32 states have already committed themselves to the Joint Declaration. Previously, Ukraine signed bilateral agreements with the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Denmark, Canada, Italy, the Netherlands, Finland, and Latvia.